McConnell Called as Winner of Kentucky Senate Race

United States Senator Mitch McConnell has been called as the winner of the 2020 Senate race in Kentucky.

Posted: Nov 3, 2020 7:09 PM
Updated: Nov 4, 2020 1:05 AM

The Associated Press has called Mitch McConnell as the winner of the 2020 Senate race in Kentucky.

Sen. McConnell, who has been Senate Majority Leader since 2014 and Kentucky's senator since 1985, is now eyeing his seventh term as the Bluegrass State's representative.

With McConnell defeating Democratic challenger Alison Lundergan Grimes in 2014, the course of his most recent six-year term led him to a showdown with Retired Lt. Col. Amy McGrath.

Both candidates campaigned across the Bluegrass State in the days leading up to Election Day 2020, making their fair share of stops in local western Kentucky communities like Henderson County, Daviess County, and Muhlenberg County.

McConnell currently holds 55.2% of votes against McGrath's 41.3%.

After first being elected to the position of Senate Majority Leader by his Republican colleagues in 2014, McConnell was chosen to serve as Majority Leader in the Republican Senate again in 2016 and 2018.

The Senate Republican and Democratic floor leaders are elected by the members of their party in the Senate at the beginning of each Congress.

LIVE National & Kentucky Election Results

Get the latest Election Day 2020 updates as they're released by downloading the 44News mobile app on the Google Play Store or in the Apple App Store

29° wxIcon
Hi: 36° Lo: 24°
Feels Like: 19°
29° wxIcon
Hi: 35° Lo: 24°
Feels Like: 20°
28° wxIcon
Hi: 36° Lo: 23°
Feels Like: 19°
30° wxIcon
Hi: 38° Lo: 27°
Feels Like: 23°
27° wxIcon
Hi: 39° Lo: 20°
Feels Like: 18°
Arctic air sticks around the Tri-State.
WEVV 4K Doppler Radar
WEVV 7-Day Forecast
WEVV Watches & Warnings

Community Events