Two Dozen Counties Vote to Separate Chicago From Illinois

24 Illinois Counties voted to separate Chicago from the rest of the state.

Posted: Nov 5, 2020 9:45 AM
Updated: Nov 5, 2020 1:12 PM

24 Illinois Counties voted to separate from the state, according to preliminary results posted by county clerks in the Land of Lincoln.

The largest group of counties that voted on the issue are groups bordering southern Indiana, including Wabash, Crawford, and White Counties.

Although the Illinois General Assembly would be reluctant to add two more Republicans to the US Senate, it's possible that it might be willing to let these counties share Indiana’s senators, and in turn, improve the state budget.

Of the 24 counties looking to separate, 23 of them had the support of 70% to 80% of voters.

29° wxIcon
Hi: 36° Lo: 24°
Feels Like: 19°
29° wxIcon
Hi: 35° Lo: 24°
Feels Like: 20°
Scattered Clouds
28° wxIcon
Hi: 36° Lo: 23°
Feels Like: 19°
31° wxIcon
Hi: 38° Lo: 27°
Feels Like: 24°
Scattered Clouds
28° wxIcon
Hi: 39° Lo: 20°
Feels Like: 18°
Arctic air sticks around the Tri-State.
WEVV 4K Doppler Radar
WEVV 7-Day Forecast
WEVV Watches & Warnings

Community Events